Faculty & Staff


Timothy Cleveland

Department Head (Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University, 1986).

Philosophy of mind; contemporary metaphysics; philosophy of language; formal & modal logic; philosophy of mathematics; philosophy of literature.

Office: Breland Hall 318. Office Hours: Tues. 1:00-2:30 and by appointment.

Phone: (575) 646-4444

Email: tclevela@nmsu.edu




Lori Keleher

Professor (Ph.D., University of Maryland, 2007).

Ethics and moral philosophy; international ethics and economic development; ancient philosophy; medieval philosophy; philosophy and feminism.

Office: Breland Hall 320. Office Hours: by appointment.

Email: lkeleher@nmsu.edu

Website: https://sites.google.com/site/lorikeleherphd/



Justin Klocksiem

Associate Professor (Ph.D. University of Massachusetts-Amherst, 2009).

Value theory; normative ethics; meta-ethics; political philosophy; applied ethics; philosophy of law; metaphysics; special interests in: the nature of justice and moral value, the computation of amounts of value, and the possibility of comparisons between different valuable things.

Office: Breland Hall 334. Office Hours: Mon. & Wed. 12:30-1:30 and by appointment.

Phone: (575) 646-1851

Email: jklocks@nmsu.edu



Jennifer Noonan

College Professor (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1998).

Philosophy of mind; modern philosophy; philosophy of law; philosophy through film; philosophy of religion; critical thinking/informal logic; analytic philosophy.

Office: Breland Hall 326. Office Hours: Tues. & Thurs. 12:00-1:00 and by appointment.

Email: jnoonan@nmsu.edu


Jean-Paul Vessel

Associate Professor (Ph.D., University of Massachusetts-Amherst, 2003).

Moral philosophy; meta-ethics; philosophy of language; metaphysics; special interest in: the conceptual overlap between meta-ethics and the philosophy of language.

Office: Breland Hall 324. Office Hours: Tues. 3:00-4:30 and by appointment.

Phone: (575) 646-2871

Email: jvessel@nmsu.edu



Mark Walker 

Professor, The Richard L. Hedden Endowed Chair

(Ph.D., Australian National University, 1994).

Epistemology; ethics; philosophy of religion; philosophy of science; special interest in: ethical issues of emerging technologies (e.g., genetic engineering, advanced pharmacology, artificial intelligence research, and nanotechnology).

Office: Breland Hall 322. Office Hours: by appointment.

Phone: (575) 646-5444

Email: mwalker@nmsu.edu


Richard Ketchum, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania) Dr. Ketchum’s specializations include Plato, Presocratics, and Epistemology.

Paul T. Sagal, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania) Dr. Sagal’s interests are in Analytic Philosophy, History of Philosophy, and Medieval Philosophy.

Danny “Quitter” Scoccia, Professor Emeritus, (Ph.D. University of California at San Diego). Dr. Scoccia’s interests include ethical theory, philosophy of law and social and political philosophy.

Philosophy Staff

Philosophy Department Administrative Assistant: Dana Barksdale


Email: dbarks@nmsu.edu

Breland Hall 330