Faculty & Staff

Timothy Cleveland

Professor Cleveland is on Sabbatical during the spring term of 2019. For Department Head inquiries, please contact Professor Walker (Acting Department Head): mwalker@nmu.edu 

Department Head (Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University, 1986).

Philosophy of mind; contemporary metaphysics; philosophy of language; formal & modal logic; philosophy of mathematics; philosophy of literature.

Office: Breland Hall 318

Phone: (575) 646-4444

Email: tclevela@nmsu.edu


Image of Lori Keleher

Lori Keleher

Associate Professor (Ph.D., University of Maryland, 2007).

Ethics and moral philosophy; international ethics and economic development; ancient philosophy; medieval philosophy; philosophy and feminism.

Office: Breland Hall 320. Office Hours: Mon 1:30-3:30, on site for 15 minutes after every class, and by appointment.


Email: lkeleher@nmsu.edu

Website: https://sites.google.com/site/lorikeleherphd/



Justin Klocksiem

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. University of Massachusetts-Amherst, 2009).

Value theory; normative ethics; meta-ethics; political philosophy; applied ethics; philosophy of law; metaphysics; special interests in: the nature of justice and moral value, the computation of amounts of value, and the possibility of comparisons between different valuable things.

Office: Breland Hall 334. Office Hours: Mon and Wed 2:00-3:00 and by appointment.


Email: jklocks@nmsu.edu



Jennifer Noonan

College Professor (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1998).

Philosophy of mind; modern philosophy; philosophy of law; philosophy through film; philosophy of religion; critical thinking/informal logic; analytic philosophy.

Office: Breland Hall 326. Office Hours: Tues and Thurs 12:00-1:00 and by appointment.

Email: jnoonan@nmsu.edu

Image of Jean-Paul Vessel

Jean-Paul Vessel

Associate Professor (Ph.D., University of Massachusetts-Amherst, 2003).

Moral philosophy; meta-ethics; philosophy of language; metaphysics; special interest in: the conceptual overlap between meta-ethics and the philosophy of language.

Office: Breland Hall 324. Office Hours: Tues 3:00-4:30 and by appointment.

Phone: (575) 646-2871

Email: jvessel@nmsu.edu


Mark Walker

Acting Department Head (Spring 2019). 

Professor, The Richard L. Hedden Endowed Chair

(Ph.D., Australian National University, 1994).

Epistemology; ethics; philosophy of religion; philosophy of science; special interest in: ethical issues of emerging technologies (e.g., genetic engineering, advanced pharmacology, artificial intelligence research, and nanotechnology).

Office: Breland Hall 322. Office Hours: Mon, Tues, Wed, and Thurs 11:00-1:00.

Phone: (575) 646-5444

Email: mwalker@nmsu.edu


Richard Ketchum, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania) Dr. Ketchum’s specializations include Plato, Presocratics, and Epistemology.

Paul T. Sagal, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania) Dr. Sagal’s interests are in Analytic Philosophy, History of Philosophy, and Medieval Philosophy.

Danny “Quitter” Scoccia, Professor Emeritus, (Ph.D. University of California at San Diego). Dr. Scoccia’s interests include ethical theory, philosophy of law and social and political philosophy.

Philosophy Staff

Philosophy Department Administrative Assistant: Dana Barksdale

Email: dbarks@ad.nmsu.edu

Breland Hall 330